GMS Information

GMS Transport Strategy 2006–2015

The transport sector is critical to economic cooperation among the countries of the Greater Mekong Subregion (GMS). Soon after its inception in 1992, the GMS Economic Cooperation Program developed a GMS Transport Master Plan (1995) to encourage commercial exchange among the countries to spur development, generate employment opportunities, and assist GMS countries’ programs to reduce poverty. The Transport Master Plan served well to develop the economic corridors that are the foundation of the GMS Program.

5th Meeting of the Regional Power Trade Coordination Committee (RPTCC-5) Siem Reap, Cambodia, 15-16 June 2006

In the last meeting (RPTCC-4) held in Yangon, the RPTCC members deliberated on the key institutional arrangements for the stage 1 of the Regional Power Trade Operating Agreement (RPTOA), particularly on the establishment of the Focal Group (FG), its TOR and capacity building plan. Since then the FG and the Planning Working Group (PWG) have been established, and their meetings held. The RPTCC-4 meeting also discussed practices/ experiences in regional power trade in other regions to serve as initial lessons in design of power market arrangements.

2nd Meeting of the Focus Group (FG-2) of the Regional Power Trade Coordination Committee (RPTCC-6)

The Focal Group was established with the holding of the its first meeting (FG-1) in Hanoi in January 2006. The earlier FG-1 meeting agreed on the appointment of the authorities (chair and co-chair), the setting up of communication channels/ procedures, prioritization of activities, and the establishment of the Planning Working Group (PWG). PRC was appointed chair for the next two years, with ADB as co-chair. The FG-2 meeting was co-organized by the Ministry of Industry, Mines and Energy (MIME) of Cambodia and the Asian Development Bank (ADB).

1st Meeting of the Focal Group (FG-1) of the Regional Power Trade Coordination Committee (RPTCC-4)

The establishment of the Focal Group (FG) was agreed during the RPTCC-4 meeting held in Yangon in September 2005, to coordinate the implementation of the RPTCC activities in each GMS country. The FG was the first institution created for the implementation of the Regional Power Trade Operating Agreement (PTOA). The list of FG members was recently finalized based on nominations submitted by the GMS countries. The FG-1 meeting was attended by FG members nominated by the six GMS member countries, as well as by representatives of AFD, Soluziona, World Bank and ADB.