Study for a Regional Power Trade Operating Agreement in the Greater Mekong Subregion


Project 36035-012
Related Projects Search
Type TA
Sector Energy
Country Regional
Start 2003
End 2007
Status Closed
Last Edited 05 Jul 2021


US$('000) 920

Project Description

Since 1992, the six member countries (Cambodia, Lao People-s Democratic Republic, Myanmar, People-s Republic of China, Thailand, and Viet Nam) of the Greater Mekong Subregion (GMS) have embarked on a program of economic cooperation that aims to promote development through closer economic linkages. At the first GMS summit in 2002, the leaders of six GMS countries signed the Inter-Governmental Agreement (IGA) on Regional Power Trade. Following the ratification of the IGA by all GMS countries, a Regional Power Trade Coordination Committee was created in 2004 consisting of representatives from power utilities and energy ministries in each GMS country. In this context, the GMS countries requested Asian Development Bank (ADB) to provide a technical assistance (TA) to prepare a regional power trade operating agreement (PTOA) in the GMS.

Progress (as of March 2021)

Project closed


Contact 1
Contact Name
Contact 2
Contact Name -
Organization -
Email -

News and Multimedia

  • Enhanced power trade in the Greater Mekong Subregion (GMS).